copyright 2010 Jim Lockman/Click!

I enjoy capturing images that make a difference. Sometimes photography, like any other business, boils down to making money. I do have to stay alive and support my wife, after all. Ideally, I shoot pictures because of my passion. But I still have to eat. Some photo assignments are pretty exciting. Others are enjoyable because of the people you meet and work with, but aren’t very exciting to shoot. Sometimes you are just going through the motions. I guess its true with any job.

I love to hear success stories that are a direct or indirect result of images I have created. Partially, it becomes justification for the prices I have to charge customers. Also, it feels good to know that you played a part in the increase in sales for a company, helped introduce a new product, shared a special event in someone’s life, or created an image that will be prized for a long time. When I am successful at taking a photograph of  someone that isn’t photogenic, a building that is ugly, or some subject I wouldn’t waste film on, and successfully bring those images to life, I am gratified.

Not every photograph is an award winner.  Not every job I shoot is exciting. But there are times when I capture an image that goes beyond the job and its purpose and has a life of its own. I live for those images!

copyright 2010 Jim Lockman/Click!
Leave a Reply

