A really important meeting was scheduled for this afternoon. As I was preparing to  retire last night, I quickly perused the newspaper to check out the local news and obituaries. The wife of an old high school friend died. Judy had been ill for some time. Our families were not close, but when she had first become ill, my friend had called me to ask for prayer.

The dilemma I faced was whether to attend the meeting or go to the funeral. I spent most of this morning wrestling with what I should do.

As I was driving to the funeral, I was thinking about the death of friends, loved ones and even people I don’t know. A funeral takes a short amount of time and the impact of someone’s death doesn’t really hit us until after the funeral is over. When I was young, everyone in their cars pulled off the road out of respect. In larger cities, you don’t see that much anymore. Death is so prevalent in life that we become desensitized to the reality of it. Television programming exploits death and the news covers so much that we can’t really comprehend the seriousness of someone’s loss.

  Many times at a funeral, we are thinking if we hurry we can get back to the office to finish that report. Our lives are packed with so much stuff. We don’t have time to deal with death. On one hand, showing someone we care or grieving ourselves is important. But on the other hand, they’re gone. Life on earth is over except for the memories. We have to move on. I always feel bad after a funeral, as if there is a hole that can’t be filled.

Life is short. Life is precious. Life is a gift from God.

Celebrate life today! Don’t take any moment for granted. Spend your life loving people.

 Don’t get caught in the trap, “I wish I had gotten over to visit Aunt Jane before she died.” Visit Aunt Jane now, do your stuff later. Aunt Jane is not the only one who may not be around tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

